Spring Thriller Roundup

When I know Harlan Coben has a new book coming out, I get excited. Why? Because I know that a two-day reading fest is in my future. Once I start page one, I know I’m in for a thrilling reading experience that will last until the last page is turned– and not much else is going to happen in my life until that point.

I got to read Harlan Coben’s newest, Six Years, and I’m happy to say that I found it in keeping with his past books– once again I lost two days while reading it. Then I handed it over to my husband, who also lost two days and gave me a good-natured hard time for stealing that time from him by putting the book in his hands.

Six Years by Harlan Coben

In  Six Years, a masterpiece of modern suspense, Harlan Coben explores the depth and passion of lost love…and the secrets and lies at its heart.

Six years have passed since Jake Fisher watched Natalie, the love of his life, marry another man. Six years of hiding a broken heart by throwing himself into his career as a college professor. Six years of keeping his promise to leave Natalie alone, and six years of tortured dreams of her life with her new husband, Todd.

But six years haven’t come close to extinguishing his feelings, and when Jake comes across Todd’s obituary, he can’t keep himself away from the funeral. There he gets the glimpse of Todd’s wife he’s hoping for…but she is not Natalie. Whoever the mourning widow is, she’s been married to Todd for almost two decades, and with that fact everything Jake thought he knew about the best time of his life—a time he has never gotten over—is turned completely inside out.

As Jake searches for the truth, his picture-perfect memories of Natalie begin to unravel. Mutual friends of the couple either can’t be found, or don’t remember Jake. No one has seen Natalie in years. Jake’s search for the woman who broke his heart, who lied to him, soon puts his very life at risk as it dawns on him that the man he has become may be based on a carefully constructed fiction.

Harlan Coben once again delivers a shocking page-turner that deftly explores the power of past love, and the secrets and lies that such love can hide.

Add SIX YEARS to your Goodreads Want-To-Read list.

And if you love Harlan Coben– or suspense/thriller/mystery type books, here are some other titles to check out.

Dark Tide by Elizabeth Haynes

Elizabeth Haynes, author of the bestselling debut  Into the Darkest Corner, returns with a tense, gripping thriller about a woman caught in an underworld of corruption and murder…

Genevieve has finally achieved her dream: to leave the stress of London behind and start a new life aboard a houseboat in Kent. She’s found the perfect vessel:  Revenge of the Tide.  She already feels less lonely; as if the boat is looking after her.

But the night of her boat-warming party, a body washes up, and to Genevieve’s horror, she recognizes the victim. She isn’t about to tell the police, though; hardly anyone knows about her past as a dancer at a private members’ club, The Barclay. The death can’t have anything to do with her. Or so she thinks…

Soon, the lull of the waves against  Revenge  feels anything but soothing, as Genevieve begins to receive strange calls and can’t reach the one person who links the present danger with her history at the club. Fearing for her safety, Genevieve recalls the moment when it all started to go wrong: the night she saw her daytime boss in the crowd at The Barclay…

Dark, sexy, and exquisitely chilling,  Dark Tide  is another superb mystery from acclaimed rising star Elizabeth Haynes.

Add DARK TIDE to your Goodreads Want-To-Read list.

The Next Time You See Me by Holly Goddard Jones

“The lonely cast of outcasts in  The Next Time You See Me  has enough heartache for a whole jukebox full of country songs. Holly Goddard Jones spins a tight if heartbreaking tale, always keeping the reader leaning forward. ” —Stewart O’Nan, author of  Songs for the Missing

In  The Next Time You See Me, the disappearance of one woman, the hard-drinking and unpredictable Ronnie Eastman, reveals the ambitions, prejudices, and anxieties of a small southern town and its residents. There’s Ronnie’s sister Susanna, a dutiful but dissatisfied schoolteacher, mother, and wife; Tony, a failed baseball star-turned-detective; Emily, a socially awkward thirteen-year-old with a dark secret; and Wyatt, a factory worker tormented by a past he can’t change and by a love he doesn’t think he deserves. Connected in ways they cannot begin to imagine, their stories converge in a violent climax that reveals not just the mystery of what happened to Ronnie but all of their secret selves.

Add THE NEXT TIME I SEE YOU to your Goodreads Want-To-Read list.

Invisible by Carla Buckley

Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Carla Buckley’s  Invisible  is a stunning novel of redemption, regret, and the complex ties of familial love.

Growing up, Dana Carlson and her older sister, Julie, are inseparable—Dana the impulsive one, Julie calmer and more nurturing. But then a devastating secret compels Dana to flee from home, not to see or speak to her sister for sixteen years.

When she receives the news that Julie is seriously ill, Dana knows that she must return to their hometown of Black Bear, Minnesota, to try and save her sister. Yet she arrives too late, only to discover that Black Bear has changed, and so have the people in it.

Julie has left behind a shattered teenage daughter, Peyton, and a mystery—what killed Julie may be killing others, too. Why is no one talking about it? Dana struggles to uncover the truth, but no one wants to hear it, including Peyton, who can’t forgive her aunt’s years-long absence. Dana had left to protect her own secrets, but Black Bear has a secret of its own—one that could tear apart Dana’s life, her family, and the whole town.

“Beautifully written and unsettling . . . leaves you with a lingering sense of dread long after you close the last page. “—Chevy Stevens

Add INVISIBLE to your Goodreads Want-To-Read list.

About Marybeth Whalen

Marybeth Whalen is the co-founder of She Reads, mother of six, and life-long reader. She is also the author of two novels with a third out in July: The Mailbox, She Makes It Look Easy, and The Guest Book.

2 Responses to Spring Thriller Roundup

  1. Heather April 11, 2013 at 10:17 am #

    I’m adding a number of these to my to-read list! Awesome!

  2. Katherine Jones April 11, 2013 at 10:17 am #

    Great recommendations for one of my favorite genres. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Site by Author Media