Book, Meet Book

Today’s post by Marybeth Whalen | @MarybethWhalen

Continuing with our ongoing “Book, Meet Book” series we’d like to do a little literary matchmaking with two new novels set in the rugged wilderness. One in Colordado, one in Alaska, but both dealing with secrets and the familiar desire to escape. So, BREAKING WILD, please meet ALL THE WINTERS AFTER. We think you two will get along famously.


Breaking WildIn captivating prose, Diane Les Becquets tells the story of one woman missing in the Colorado wilderness and another bent on discovering the missing woman’s whereabouts, in an unforgettably moving and thrilling literary debut.
It is the last weekend of the season for Amy Raye Latour to get away. Driven to spend days alone in the wilderness, Amy Raye, mother of two, is compelled by the quiet and the rush of nature. But this time, her venture into a remote area presents a different set of dangers than Amy Raye has planned for and she finds herself on the verge of the precarious edge that she’s flirted with her entire life.

When Amy Raye doesn’t return to camp, ranger Pru Hathaway and her dog respond to the missing person’s call. After an unexpected snowfall and few leads, the operation turns into a search and recovery. Pru, though, is not resigned to that. The more she learns about the woman for whom she is searching, and about Amy Raye’s past, the more she suspects that Amy Raye might yet be alive. Pru’s own search becomes an obsession for a woman whose life is just as mysterious as the clues she has left behind.

As the novel follows Amy Raye and Pru in alternating threads, Breaking Wild assumes the white-knuckled pace of a thriller laying bare Amy Raye’s ultimate reckoning with the secrets of her life, and Pru’s dogged pursuit of the woman who, against all odds, she believes she can find.


All the winters afterAlaska doesn’t forgive mistakes

That’s what Kachemak Winkel’s mother used to tell him. A lot of mistakes were made that awful day twenty years ago, when she died in a plane crash with Kache’s father and brother–and Kache still feels responsible. He fled Alaska for good, but now his aunt Snag insists on his return. She admits she couldn’t bring herself to check on his family’s house in the woods–not even once since he’s been gone.

Kache is sure the cabin has decayed into a pile of logs, but he finds smoke rising from the chimney and a mysterious Russian woman hiding from her own troubled past. Nadia has kept the house exactly the same–a haunting museum of life before the crash. And she’s stayed there, afraid and utterly isolated, for ten years.

Set in the majestic, dangerous beauty of Alaska, All the Winters After is the story of two bound souls trying to free themselves, searching for family and forgiveness.

3 Responses to Book, Meet Book

  1. Seré Prince Halverson February 24, 2016 at 10:17 am #

    Thanks so much for introducing All the Winters After to Breaking Wild–a book I’ve been hearing great things about and am looking forward to reading. Hope they’ll get to hang out together on bookshelves–or maybe in a backpack or two.

  2. Ralf September 3, 2017 at 10:17 am #

    Wonderful goods from you, man. I’ve remember your stuff prior to and you are simply
    extremely excellent. I really like what you have got right here, really like what you are saying and
    the best way during which you say it. You’re making it
    entertaining and you still care for to stay it smart. I
    cant wait to learn far more from you. That is actually
    a terrific website.

  3. Alpha Complex Extreme Review September 30, 2017 at 10:17 am #

    Everything is very open with a precise explanation of the
    issues. It was definitely informative. Your site is useful.

    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Site by Author Media